Federer’s Latest Quotes

Roger Federer's Lesson from the Court (NIKE)

Roger Federer’s Lesson from the Court (NIKE)

Roger Federer has been making a lot of positive statements recently, in light of the beginning of the new tennis season, and this has instilled a lot of confidence in his fans. In this post, I thought I’d summarize what Federer has been saying.

In an interview with The Australian, Federer remarked that he felt that he shouldn’t be written off for the Australian Open, the first Grand Slam of the year, as he is a better player now than he was 10 years ago, when he first won it.

I’ve always believed that I’ve improved over the last 10 years, that I’ve not gone backwards. I’ve been able to win it 10 years ago so I always feel that, as I move forward, I am a more complete player, a better player. That’s why I always believe that I can win if my body’s holding up and mentally I’m really hungry. And that is the case right now. I’m really healthy, I’m training extremely hard the last six weeks and I had some success coming back at the end of (the) year.

That was quite important for me and for my confidence because I was really in a difficult spot from Wimbledon all the way til Basel (the Swiss Indoors in October). “With my back issue I couldn’t train the way I wanted to. (In Melbourne) I really hope to be playing my absolute best, which I really think is possible. Then anything is possible for me.

It’s just important that I play better against the top guys. I’ve not been bad this year. I just didn’t land enough wins and that’s something I want to improve for this (coming) year. I have been to the Hopman Cup and Sydney and Adelaide, and now Brisbane and I’m looking forward to playing in Pat’s arena (named after Pat Rafter). “I have high hopes that Brisbane will be very successful for me.

Nike started an initiative called ‘Lessons from the Court’ in which Federer, Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova and Ryan Harrison gave inspirational quotes regarding the sport. Federer’s quote (below) was a life lesson, really – transcending the sport, it is applicable to everything we do in life.

Tennis can be a very frustrating sport. There is no way around the hard work. Embrace it. You have to put in the hours because there is always something you can improve. You have to see the glass half full when it comes to practice and matches because you have to put in a lot of sacrifice and effort for sometimes little reward but you have to know that, if you put in the right effort, the reward will come. You have to believe in the long term plan you have but you need the short term goals to motivate and inspire you.

Federer also tweeted that he had just completed a week of training with his childhood hero, Stefan Edberg, sparking off rumours about an impending coaching partnership.

A big thanks to Jonathan who uploaded a video of Roger practicing his volleys with the new 98 sq. cm. racquet (below).

Lastly, Federer also shared a video promo of his match against Jo Wilfried Tsonga at the Australian Open, ‘A Night with RF and Friends’. He will also honour Rod Laver that night.

One thought on “Federer’s Latest Quotes

Please leave a reply:

